Mechanical Musical Instruments and Objects

Mechanical Musical Instruments and Objects

The history of mechanical music dates back to ancient times. Having emerged back in the antiquity this original field of technical progress has been developing for more than two thousand years and it has incorporated the most advanced achievements of mechanics and natural sciences. Applied mechanics and physics were the basis for all the mechanisms of entertainment industry of the past; and the development of this field went hand in hand with scientific progress. For centuries this field has been attracting attention of famous scientists, engineers, fine mechanics masters and creators of musical instruments and clocks.

further...

Musical mechanics is the centerpiece of the exhibition of Museum Collection fund; it is the pivot point from which the history of the creation of the Museum started. This is the reason why the collection "Mechanical Musical Instruments and Objects" presents the whole range of self-operating musical instruments – from simple small organs to perfect automata pianos, most complicated orchestrions and unique automata.

Despite the “serious” age of the exhibits that include some rare items with a history over three hundred years, all of them have been restored and are operational. The geography of the collection gives a comprehensive idea about the level and progress of this area of engineering in European countries and countries of North America.

Amazing and mysterious features of these exhibits (exquisiteness of finishing, movement's perfectness, incomprehensible ability to operate without human input, unusually natural sound appearing from "the God knows where") will be of interest both for professional experts and for a wide range of visitors of various ages.


minimize...

Other collections

Механические музыкальные инструменты и предметы. Музей «Собрание»

Механические музыкальные инструменты и предметы

История механической музыки уходит в глубокую древность. Возникнув еще в античные времена, эта своеобразная область технического прогресса развивалась более двух тысяч лет и соединила в себе передовые достижения механики и естественных наук. В основе всех механизмов индустрии развлечения прошлого лежали прикладная механика и физика, и развитие этой сферы было неразрывно переплетено с научным прогрессом. На протяжении веков эта сфера привлекала к себе внимание знаменитых ученых,  инженеров, мастеров точной механики и создателей музыкальных инструментов и часов.

далее...

Музыкальная механика - это основа музея "Собрание", именно с этого раздела началась история создания музея. Коллекция "Механических музыкальных предметов и инструментов" представляет всю палитру самоиграющих музыкальных инструментов - от простых органчиков и шарманок до совершенных автоматических роялей, пианол, фисгармоний, сложнейших оркестрионов, органов и уникальных кукол-автоматонов. 

Несмотря на "серьезный" возраст экспонатов, среди которых есть и раритеты с более чем трехсотлетней историей, все они отреставрированы и находятся в рабочем состоянии. География коллекции дает практически полное представление об уровне и ходе развития этой области техники в странах Европы и Северной Америки. 

Удивительные и загадочные свойства этих экспонатов — изящество отделки, совершенство механизмов, непостижимая способность работать без участия человека, непривычно натуральный звук, возникающий неведомо откуда — будут интересны как аудитории профессиональных экспертов, так и широкому кругу посетителей самых разных возрастов.


свернуть...

Другие коллекции