String Instruments

Zithers

Zithers and Gusli belong to the group of string plucked music instruments. The name “zither” comes from the ancient Greek word "κιθάρα" and the Latin “cithara”. Instrument consists of a flat wooden case and stretched strings. The number of strings depends on the zither’s size and can range from 17 up to 45 strings. Instruments of similar construction are known from the antiquity.
further...
 

In China “Guqin” is considered the ancestor of the zithers, and in Japan, it was “Koto”. A zither was very popular in medieval Europe. In the sixteenth century, it became the second most popular instrument after a lute. Later in the XVIII century, the instrument was updated. The instrument was imported to Russia in the second half of the XIX century. Specialists distinguish a treble zither, a bass zither and a concert zither.
Gusli is one of the most ancient musical instruments, which existed under different names among all nations. It was known in Europe and in the East (Ancient Greek kifar, Armenian canon, Finnish kanfele, Latvian kokle, and Lithuanian kankles). Gusli sounds due to strings and a soundboard that resonates the sound. According to the shape and design, Gusli can be divided into two groups: winglike and helm-shaped.
There exists a hypothesis that Chinese "Guqin" that appeared BC was the ancestor of Gusli. The origin of the name of the instruments’ group is often associated with the ancient name of the bowstring - "gusla". Gusli was an indispensable attribute of the ancient Russian folk tales and legends; Gusli was a musical instrument that the famous heroes of the Russian epos played.

minimize...

4 items

Струнные инструменты

Цитры, гусли

Цитры и гусли относятся к группе струнных щипковых музыкальных инструментов. Название цитры происходит от древне-греческого слова "κιθάρα" и латинского "cithara". Конструкция инструмента состоит из плоского деревянного корпуса и натянутых струн. Количество струн зависит от размера цитры, и может составлять от 17 до 45 струн. Инструменты аналогичной конструкции известны с древности.

далее...

В Китае предком цитры считается струнный инструмент "цисяньцин", а в Японии - "кото". Цитра была очень популярна в средневековой Европе, к XVI веку став вторым по популярности инструментом после лютни.  Позднее в XVIII веке инструмент был усовершенствован. В Россию инструмент был завезен  во второй половине XIX века. Специалисты различают дискант-цитры, басовые цитры, концертные цитры.

Гусли один из самых древних музыкальных инструментов, существовавший под разными названиями у всех народов -- и на европейском континенте, и на Востоке (древнегреческая кифара, армянский канон, иранский сантур, финский кантеле, латышский кокле, литовский канклес). Извлечение звука в гуслях производится за счет струн и резонатора, усиливающего их звучание. По форме и конструкции гусли делятся на две группы: крыловидные и шлемовидные. 

Есть предположение, что прародитель гуслей "гуцинь" появился в Китае еще до н.э. Происхождение названия этой группы инструментов  чаще всего связывают с древним названием струны лука -- "гусла". Гусли -- непременный атрибут древнерусских былин и сказаний, именно на них играли самые известные герои русского эпоса. 

свернуть...

4 предмета