Prints

Maps

The core of the Museum Collection cartographic corpus includes engraved and lithographed maps of the Caucasus territory, dating back to the end of the 18th – beginning of the 20th centuries, reflecting the history of the region's integration into Russia. This process actively started in the second half of the 18th century and ended in 1864 with subjugation of the Western Caucasus.

Various in their content - common geographical maps (defined in the terminology of its time as "military-topographic", political-administrative maps, maps of communication lines, topographic maps, maps of special territories and ethnic areas – all these maps let us track the history of the Caucasus not in the textual but in the graphical dimension. They were developed mostly by the military department, which played a key role in cartography and maps' publication of the country. Military-topographic services, the emergence of which in the course of the long Caucasus war was accompanied by intense topographic and geodesic surveying, were engaged in developing the overview maps of the Caucasus and its areas. Their objective was to visualize the new status of border territories and land acquisitions of the Russian Empire in the south, illustrate the region's integration into the Russian Empire's space, show its administrative and territorial transformations, provide insight into the political environment of the Northern Caucasus in the context of ethnic and religious peculiarities in terms of their numbers and attitude to Russia (subjugated or not). Therefore, cartographic materials are the valuable source of information for studying the history of the Caucasus and its peoples, illustrating the process of the region's integration into the Russian state with transformation of political, administrative borders and borders of ethnic territories.

further...

Antique perception of the region between the Caspian, the Black and the Azov seas (i.e. territories of present-day south of Russia, Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Turkey, Iran) is demonstrated by the maps of European cartographers, engravers and publishing houses of the 17th – 18th centuries. They include the maps of "Sarmatia" (European part of Russia), "Tartaria" (collective name for modern southern and Siberian borders of Russia), "Asia" (the Caucasus), "the Póntos Éuxenos Sea" (the Black Sea) "Maris Caspii" (the Caspian Sea). The maps developed basing on Claudius Ptolemy's "Geography" are of special interest. In the middle of the 2nd century astronomer and geographer, Claudius Ptolemy from Alexandria compiled "Geography" in eight volumes with the attached list of cities and rivers, indication of their geographic longitude and latitude, having supplemented the text with maps that did not survive. In the 13th century Byzantine monk and enthusiast amateur of old manuscripts Maximus Planudes managed to find the Ptolemy's "Geography", but without maps. Guided by Ptolemy's text, he decided to draw them. That is how the first known to us Ptolemy's maps were created. After the fall of Constantinople in 1453, the Greeks that fled from the Turks brought many Byzantine manuscripts to Italy; among them was "Geography". In 1466, Benedictine monk German artisan Nicholas restored the maps using the Latin translation of the text, having drawn them in a new trapezoidal projection. Engraved in 1477, they were included in the Bologna edition of "Geography" (500 copies) - the first print of Ptolemy. The Ptolemy's maps changed the perspective of the depicted world.

According to the theological explanation of the universe, which was the only admissible one for the medieval man, three continents – Europe, Asia and Africa were distributed among the three sons of Noah and arranged crosswise with Jerusalem at their crossing (because the medieval concept of the world had the Holy Sepulcher at its center). This concept was replaced by the worldview of the modern man, who saw the world from above, as it looks like from a birds-eye-view.

Despite the significant inaccuracies, Ptolemy's maps gained a wide recognition among Europeans and served as the main source of geography information until the Age of Discovery. His “Guideline on Geography” was one of the first geographical reference guides used by many famous mapmakers, for example, by Sebastian Münster (1489-1552), whose edition of "Cosmographia universalis" for the first time included the map of the European part of Russia. Another map-maker inspired by Ptolemy’s heritage is Gerardus Mercator (1512-1594), the continents on his maps became shaped in the way which is familiar to us, and the atlas got its name for the first time (so customary nowadays) as he put the figure of ancient hero Atlas bearing the earth globe on his shoulders on the title page of the map collection "Atlas sive cosmographicae meditations de fabrica mundi et fabricate figura".

While studying the maps of the 17th – 18th centuries it is necessary to point out a close link between science and artistic creation. Scientific images of the earth surface were supplemented with various geographical elements (for example, mythological or allegoric characters) or cartouche – an ornamental frame covered with swags made of flowers, leaves, fruit, war trophies or genre scenes that often have a meaning and a text inside the frame.

A bright example of such alliance of science and art is “Russian Atlas consisting of forty-three maps, dividing the Empire into forty-one governorates” dated 1800 that the museum has got it its collection; each map is decorated with a narrative cartouche characterizing the depicted territory in economic, political and historic aspects. According to the researchers’ opinion, the author of these cartouches content could be the person who wrote the Atlas - Russian mathematician, geographer and mapmaker A.M. Wilbrecht (1757-1823), and Historical Pictorial Art Professor in Saint Petersburg Academy I.P. Tupilev (1758-1821), was the author of the images.

Atlas compilation works were initiated by Peter the Great, who organized field surveying of the so-called “Peter’s land-surveyors” that started systematic mapping of the country as the means for studying natural resources and economic peculiarities of the territory. The surveying of the country performed in 1720 - 1750 years resulted in the emerging of the first mass cartographic records that contained uniform general geographic information on quite vast regions. The first attempt of publishing the atlas was made in 1731, when in V.O. Kipriyanov’s printing house the so-called Kirilov’s atlas was issued; only several copies of it were published.

“Russian Atlas” published in large circulation by the Academy of Science in 1745 and receiving printed additions all along the 18th century became the first official atlas of the state.

During the reign of Empress Ekaterina II, (1762-1796) financing of scientific exploration of the country territory was increased in order to improve its understanding from the ethnographic, social and economic points of view. The amplitude of information on the geography of Russia received as a result of numerous expeditions, made it possible to issue a new national atlas, and Ekaterina II personally controlled its compilation in 1786. It took seven years to complete “Russian Atlas consisting of forty-four maps, dividing the Empire into forty-two governorates” and it was published in Saint Petersburg at the School of Mines in 1792.

Later in 1793-1795 due to the abundance of geographic information received as a result of the expansion of the Russian Empire to the West and creating new governorates on the former Turkish and Polish lands, the Atlas dated 1792 was published with additional maps of new provinces.

The Atlas published in 1792 became the basis for creating of “Russian Atlas” in 1800, half of its maps were printed from copper plates which were used to print the same maps of 1792, but with introduction of either significant , or small amendments. The new Atlas edition was destined not only to reflect the changes introduced in the administrative-territorial structure of the Empire by Emperor Paul I (1796-1801) after his enthronement in 1796, but also to glorify him as the defender of justice and order, emphasizing the grandeur of the Russian Empire.

Thus, the maps feature historical facts and political interests, the level of scientific knowledge and the concept of the universe. Engraved by well-known masters and published by famous printing houses they can narrate a lot about the old time and the way it was perceived. Welcome to the world of maps!

References:
N.A. Borisovskaya. Ancient engraved pictures and plans of the 15th – 18th centuries". М., 1992.
V.E. Bulatov. Russian Atlas consisting of forty-three maps and dividing the Empire into forty-one governorate (1800). Nauchny Apparat. М., 2008.
М.М. Kartoyev. Source maps on the history of the North Caucasian region in the Military Scientific Archive (Russian State Military Historical Archive) (second half of the 18th – 60s of the 19th century) // RSUH Bulletin. No. 4/08. М., 2008. Pages171-190.
М.М. Kartoyev. Russian maps of the Caucasus of the 18th-19th centuries: regional history in the context of the Imperial politics (historical and geographical aspect) // Historical geography: human’s space vs human in the space: materials of the 23rd International Scientific Conference, January 27-29, 2011, М.,: RSUH, 2011. Pages 270-272.
К.А. Salischev. Map Science. М., 1990
S.I. Sotnikova. Source studies of Russian maps of the 17th –beginning of the 20th century: Extended Abstract of Dissertation. М., 1990.
А.А. Tsutsiev. Atlas of Ethnopolitical History of the Caucasus. М., 2007.

minimize...

Печатная продукция

Карты

Основу картографической коллекции музея «Собрание» составляют гравированные и литографированные карты территории Кавказа, относящиеся к концу XVIII – началу XX веков, отражающие историю включения региона в состав России. Процесс этот, активно начавшийся во второй половине XVIII в., завершился в 1864 г. с покорением Западного Кавказа.

Разнообразные по своему содержанию - общегеографические, определявшиеся в терминологии своего времени как «военно-топографические», политико-административные, карты путей сообщения, топографические, планы отдельных территорий и этнических областей, – карты позволяют проследить историю Кавказа не в текстовом, а в графическом измерении. Они создавались преимущественно военным ведомством, игравшим с начала XIX века ведущую роль в картографии и картоиздании страны. Военно-топографические службы, развитие которых совпало с периодом многолетней Кавказской войны и сопровождалось интенсивными топографо-геодезическими съёмками, вели работу по созданию обзорных карт всего Кавказа и отдельных его областей. Их цель обозначить в наглядной форме новый статус приграничных территорий и приобретения Российской империи на юге, проиллюстрировать интеграцию региона в пространство Российской империи, показать его административно-территориальные преобразования, дать представление о политической конъюнктуре на Северном Кавказе в контексте этнорелигиозных особенностей населения с численностью и отношением к России (покорённые или нет). Таким образом, картографические материалы являются ценными источниками для изучения истории Кавказа и его народов, иллюстрирующие процесс интеграции региона в Российское государство с изменениями политических, административных и этнотерриториальных границ.
далее...
Античные представления о регионе, лежащем между Каспийским, Чёрным и Азовским морями (то есть территорий современных юга России, Грузии, Армении, Азербайджана, Турции, Ирана) демонстрируют находящиеся в коллекции карты европейских картографов, гравёров и издательств XVII – XVIII веков. Это карты «Сарматии» (европейской части России), «Тартарии» (собирательное название современных южных и сибирских рубежей России), «Азии» (Кавказа), «Понта Эвксинского» (Черного моря) и «Марис Каспий» (Каспийского моря). Особый интерес представляют карты, сделанные на основе «Руководства по географии» Клавдия Птолемея. В середине II в. александрийский астроном и географ Клавдий Птолемей составил в восьми книгах «Руководство по географии» с приложением списка городов и рек, с указанием их географической долготы и широты, дополнив текст не дошедшими до нас картами. В XIII в. византийскому монаху Максиму Плануду, любителю старых рукописей, удалось найти птолемеевскую "Географию", но без карт. Руководствуясь текстом Птолемея, он решил их изготовить. Так возникли первые из известных нам Птолемеевы карты. После падения Константинополя в 1453 г. бежавшие от турок греки привезли в Италию множество византийских рукописей, среди которых была "География". В 1466 г. бенедектинский монах, немецкий мастер Николай восстановил по переведённому на латынь тексту карты, начертив их в новой, трапециевидной проекции. Гравированные в 1477 г., они вошли в болонское издание "Географии", напечатанное в количестве 500 экземпляров - первое печатное издание Птолемея. Птолемеевы карты изменили точку зрения на изображаемый мир. Теологическое объяснение мироздания, единственно допустимое для средневекового человека, по которому три материка – Европа, Азия и Африка, разделённые между тремя сыновьями Ноя, располагались крестообразно, а на пересечении их помещался Иерусалим (поскольку по средневековому представлению именно Гроб Господня являлся центром мира) изменилось на мировоззрение человека нового времени, увидевшего мир сверху, с высоты птичьего полёта.
Несмотря на существенные неточности, карты Птолемея получили широкое признание среди европейцев и служили основным источником сведений о географии вплоть до Великих географических открытиях, а «Руководство по географии» явилось одним из первых географических справочников, которым пользовались многие знаменитые картографы, как, например, Себастьян Мюнстер (1489-1552), в чьём издании «Cosmographia universalis» впервые была приведена карта европейской части России, или Герард Меркатор (1512-1594), на картах которого материки приобрели привычную нашему глазу форму, а атлас впервые получил это столь естественное теперь название, потому что на титульном листе своего собрания карт «Atlas sive cosmographicae meditations de fabrica mundi et fabricate figura» он поместил изображение античного гиганта Атласа, несущего на плечах земную сферу.

Рассматривая карты XVII – XVIII вв. необходимо отметить тесную связь между наукой и художественным творчеством. Научные изображения земной поверхности были дополнены разнообразными графическими элементами (например, мифологическими или аллегорическими персонажами) или картушем – фигурной рамкой с окружающими её гирляндами из цветов, листьев, плодов, военными трофеями или жанровыми сценками, нередко несущими в себе смысловую нагрузку, с расположенным в ней (рамке) текстом.
Ярким примером подобного союза науки и искусства является находящийся в коллекции музея «Российский Атлас из сорока трёх карт состоящий и на сорок одну губернию Империю разделяющий» 1800 г., каждая из карт которого украшена сюжетным картушем, характеризующим представленную территорию в экономическом, политическом и историческом аспекте. По мнению исследователей, автором содержания картушей мог выступать сочинитель Атласа, русский математик, географ и картограф А.М. Вильбрехт (1757-1823), а автором изображений – профессор исторической живописи петербургской Академии художеств И.Ф. Тупилев (1758-1821).

  Работы по составлению атласа были инициированы ещё Петром I, организовавшим полевые съёмки так называемых «петровских геодезистов», положившими начало планомерному картографированию страны как средству изучения природных ресурсов и экономических особенностей территории. Выполненные в 1720 - 1750-е гг. съёмки страны привели к появлению первых комплексов массовых картографических документов, содержавших однородную информацию общегеографического характера по довольно обширным регионам. Первая попытка издания атласа была предпринята в 1731 году, когда в типографии В.О. Киприянова вышел так называемый атлас Кирилова, изданный всего в нескольких экземплярах.

 Первым официальным атласом государства стал «Атлас Российский», выпущенный большим тиражом Академией наук в 1745 г. и допечатываемый на всём протяжении XVIII в.
Во время правления императрицы Екатерины II (1762-1796) было увеличено финансирование научных исследований территорий страны для её лучшего понимания с этнографичекой, социальной и экономической точек зрения. Обилие информации о географии России, полученное в результате многочисленных экспедиций, делало возможным издание нового национального атласа, составление которого в 1786 г. Екатерина II взяла под свой контроль. «Российский атлас из сорока четырех карт состоящий и на сорок на два наместничества империю разделяющий», работа над которым продолжалась семь лет, был издан в Петербурге, при Горном училище в 1792 г.
В последующие годы (1793-1795 гг.) в связи с расширением Российской империи на запад и образованием новых губерний на бывших турецких и польских землях, Атлас 1792 г. издавали с дополнительными картами новых наместничеств.

 На основе Атласа 1792 г. и был создан «Российский атлас» 1800 г., половина карт которого были напечатаны с медных досок, с которых печатали соответствующие карты 1792 г., но с внесением на них больших или меньших изменений. Издание нового Атласа было призвано не только отражать изменения, внесённые в административно-территориальную структуру империи императором Павлом I (1796-1801) после его вступления на престол в 1796 г., но прославлять его в зримой форме как защитника справедливости и порядка, подчёркивая величие Российской империи.

Итак, в картах сплетается момент истории, политические интересы, уровень научных знаний и представлений о мироздании. Гравированные известными мастерами и изданные знаменитыми издательствами, они могут особенно много сказать о своём времени и его восприятии. Добро пожаловать в мир карт!

Литература.
Борисовская Н.А. Старинные гравированные карты и планы XV - XVIII вв. М., 1992.
Булатов В.Э. Российский атлас из сорока трёх карт состоящий и на сорок одну губернию Империю разделяющий (1800 года). Научный аппарат. М., 2008.
Картоев М.М. Картографические источники по истории северокавказского региона в Военно-ученом архиве РГВИА (вторая половина XVIII – 60-е гг. XIX века) // Вестник РГГУ. № 4/08. М., 2008. С.171-190.
Картоев М.М. Русские карты Кавказа XVIII-XIX вв.: региональная история в контексте имперской политики (историко-географический аспект) // Историческая география: пространство человека vs человек в пространстве: материалы XXIII междунар. науч. конф. 27-29 янв. 2011 г. М.,: РГГУ, 2011. С. 270-272.
Салищев К.А. Картоведение. М., 1990
Сотникова С.И. Источниковедение русских карт XVII-начала XX века: автореф. дис ... д-ра ист. наук. М., 1990.
Цуциев А.А Атлас этнополитической истории Кавказа. М., 2007.

свернуть...

19 предметов